Update - Post-doctoral positions.

There are currently ten (10) post-doc positions of interest to candidates in Hodge research areas.

  1. The School of Maths is advertising five Whittaker fellowships, at least one of which is intended to be appointed in the areas of Algebra, Geometry, Topology, Mathematical Physics. Closing date November 21, 2019.
  2. There are two post-doc positions in symplectic topology/homological mirror symmetry funded by grants held by Nick Sheridan. Closing date December 15, 2019.
  3. The following have a closing date December 23, 2019:
    • one post-doc position funded by the EPSRC programme grant Enhancing Representation Theory, Noncommutative Algebra and Geometry held by Arend Bayer, Tom Bridgeland, Iain Gordon, Agata Smoktunowicz, and Michael Wemyss, and
    • two post-doc positions (one 36 months, one 12 months) funded by the ERC grant "Wall-crossing and Algebraic Geometry" held by Arend Bayer.

For any of these, please apply via the common job ad on https://www.vacancies.ed.ac.uk/pls/corehrrecruit/erq_jobspec_version_4.jobspec?p_id=050392

The applications forms close at 5pm GMT on the due date. Except where indicated, these are all 3-year positions.

Note: You are asked to include a CV and research statement for each application. In addition, for 1., you are asked to write a one page anonymous (it should list neither your own name nor that of co-authors) research summary; see the job listing for details. You are asked to upload it as a file "SS.pdf".

Permanent Position

We are in the process of hiring a Lecturer (exceptionally Reader) in all areas the Hodge Institute; the application deadline has now passed.

Seggie Brown Research Fellow

This is a 2-year fellowship open to all areas of mathematics. The deadline is usually around mid November.

General information

In general, the following job opportunities are available, with the later ones being more senior or prestigious. See also the School Webpage on post-doctoral fellowship opportunities (which includes updated information on upcoming deadlines).

  1. EPSRC postdoctoral fellowships. (Martin Kalck and Guillaume Pouchin were funded through these.)
  2. Research Fellowships from the Royal Commission of 1851 for 3 years.
  3. Two-year Newton fellowship for people currently based overseas.
  4. Royal Society Dorothy Hodgkin Fellowships.
  5. Our own Seggie Brown Fellowships. (Brent Pym was recently a Seggie Brown Fellow.)
  6. EPSRC Early Career Fellowships for 5 years.
  7. Royal Society University Research Fellowships for 5 years (extendable to 8 years), open to EU/EEA citizens and those who have worked at EU/EEA universities. (Ben Davison and Nick Sheridan have won these.)
  8. ERC Researcher Grants. (Agata Smoktunowicz, Arend Bayer, David Jordan, Ben Davison and Nick Sheridan have won such grants.)

(5) is usually advertised in November. Ideally contact us in late August for (7). Applicants for (1) and (6) can apply at any time, but there are specified times when panels meet to decide on funding: contacting us in either November/December or May/June makes most sense.