Post-doctoral positions.

We expect to advertise a number of post-doc positions this year, to start in the autumn 2019.

  • Seggie Brown Fellowship - the deadline for this year has passed.
  • One three-year Post-doc position on the Programme grant Enhancing Representation Theory, Noncommutative Algebra, and Geometry, closing date January 3. In parallel, there will also be a three-year position at University of Glasgow associated to the same grant.
  • Two three-year post-doc positions attached to the ERC grant ``Wall-crossing and Algebraic Geometry'' by Arend Bayer, closing date December 7.
  • One two-year position attached to the ERC grant "Categorified Donaldson-Thomas Theory" by Ben Davison.
  • We also anticipate advertising a number of 2-year Whittaker fellowships, open to all areas of mathematics.

If you intend to apply to multiple positions (which anyone is encouraged to do), it is easy to reuse all or part of the information you have entered in the application form. Similarly, letters of reference need only be sent once.

Seggie Brown Research Fellow

This is a 2-year fellowship open to all areas of mathematics. The deadline is usually around mid November.

General information

In general, the following job opportunities are available, with the later ones being more senior or prestigious. See also the School Webpage on post-doctoral fellowship opportunities (which includes updated information on upcoming deadlines).

  1. EPSRC intradisciplinary postdoctoral fellowships. Find out more about the application process. (Martin Kalck is funded through this, and before him Guillaume Pouchin was.)
  2. Research Fellowships from the Royal Commission of 1851 for 3 years.
  3. Two-year Newton fellowship for people currently based overseas.
  4. Royal Society Dorothy Hodgkin Fellowships.
  5. Our own Seggie Brown Fellowships. (Currently, Brent Pym is a Seggie Brown Fellow.)
  6. EPSRC Career Fellowships for 5 years.
  7. Royal Society University Research Fellowships for 5 years (extendable to 8 years), open to EU/EEA citizens and those who have worked at EU/EEA universities.
  8. ERC Researcher Grants. (Agata Smoktunowicz, Arend Bayer and David Jordan have won such a grant.)

(5) is usually advertised in November. Ideally contact us in late August for (7). Applicants for (1) and (6) can apply at any time, but there are specified times when panels meet to decide on funding: contacting us in either November/December or May/June makes most sense.

Page last modified on Tuesday November 27, 2018 00:02:22 UTC